The Cadbury Archive

The Cadbury Committee

The Committee on the Financial Aspects of Corporate Governance was composed of:

Sir Adrian Cadbury
Sir Adrian Cadbury (1929-)
Sir George Adrian Hayhurst Cadbury has been a preeminent figure in the field of Corporate Governance since his Chairmanship of the UK Committee on the Financial Aspects of Corporate Governance. The Report and Code of Best Practice published by this committee in December 1992 have ever since been known as the Cadbury Report and the Cadbury Code.

Sir Adrian was educated at Eton and King's College, Cambridge, and represented Great Britain in the coxless fours rowing at the 1952 Olympic Games in Helsinki. He served as Deputy Chairman and Managing Director of Cadbury Schweppes from 1969 to 1974, and thereafter as Chairman until 1989. He has also been a Director of IBM UK, chaired the CBI's Economic and Financial Policy Committee, and was a one of the Directors of the Bank Of England from 1970 to 1994.

In 2001 he was a recipient of one of the International Corporate Governance Network's inaugural International Corporate Governance Awards.
Ian Butler
CBI Council member, and former Chairman, CBI Companies Committee
Jim Butler
Senior Partner, KPMG Peat Marwick
Jonathan Charkham
Adviser to the Governor, Bank of England
Hugh Collum
Chairman of the Hundred Group of Finance Directors and Finance Director at SmithKline Beecham
Sir Ron Dearing
Chairman of the Financial Reporting Council
Andrew Likierman
Professor of Accounting and Financial Control, London Business School
Nigel MacDonald
Vice President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, Scotland
Mike Sandland
Chairman of the Institutional Shareholders Committee
Mark Sheldon
Vice-President of the Law Society
Sir Andrew Hugh Smith
President of the London Stock Exchange
Sir Dermot de Trafford
Chairman of the Institute of Directors
Adviser: Sir Christopher Hogg
Chairman, Reuters Holdings
Secretary: Nigel Peace, DTI

© Cambridge Judge Business School, Trumpington Street, Cambridge, CB2 1AG, UK. Tel +44 (0)1223 339700