skip to navigation skip to content

Go (light) Blues


Six rowers now studying at Cambridge Judge Business School are chosen to compete for the University of Cambridge at this year’s Boat Race against Oxford.

Men on rowing machines.
Photo credit: Nordin Catic

Two women and four men now studying at Cambridge Judge Business School have been chosen by the Cambridge University Boat Club to represent the University of Cambridge in the annual Boat Race against Oxford University on Sunday 3 April.

Those in the Cambridge crew in the 76th Women’s Boat Race are Cambridge MBA student Ruby Tew (MBA 2021), a New Zealand native who competed in the last two Olympics, and Paige Badenhorst, an MPhil in Management (MPhil Management 2021) student from South Africa who represented her native country in the Junior World Rowing Championships and won awards as a rower for the University of Michigan.

Chosen from Cambridge Judge for the men’s squad in the 167th Men’s Boat Race are current Cambridge MBA students James Hunter, Ollie Wynne-Griffith and Simon Schürch (all MBA 2021), and George Finlayson, an MPhil in Management student (MPhil Management 2021).

James rowed for New Zealand at the 2016 Olympics and has won multiple medals at the World Rowing Championships; Ollie was a bronze medallist at last year’s Tokyo games for the Team GB men’s eight; and Simon raced for Switzerland in the 2012 and 2016 Olympics, winning a gold medal in the lightweight men’s four at the 2016 Rio games; George competed for Australia in the under-23s in 2019 and rowed for Cal Men’s Rowing while studying at the University of California, Berkeley.

As the Gemini Boat Race 2022 said in announcing the crews: “The Gemini Boat Race has a unique place in the British psyche, attracting the interest of millions of people worldwide and over 250,000 spectators on the banks of the Thames. The race is one of the highest profile rowing events in the world and the annual focal point of a rivalry that spans at least 185 years. The long-standing tradition of formally announcing the crews marks a very important day for each of the student athletes named.”

The Women’s Race this year begins at 14:23 and the Men’s Race begins at 15:23.