skip to navigation skip to content

The Centre of Business Research announces the new Chair of its Advisory Board


Kate ParkerThe Centre for Business Research (CBR), based at Cambridge Judge Business School, is delighted to announce that Kate Barker CBE has become the new Chair of its Advisory Board.

With a wealth of experience as a highly respected business economist, Kate’s main priority is to help translate the CBR’s research into policy and practice. She is currently a Senior Adviser to Credit Suisse and a non-executive director of three businesses. Within the public sector, she is a non-executive member of the UK Government’s Office for Budget Responsibility and Chair of the Northern Ireland Economic Advisory Group.

Kate was a member of the Bank of England’s Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) from 2001 until May 2010. During this period, she also led two major policy reviews for Government on housing supply and on land use planning. Before joining the MPC, she was Chief Economic Adviser at the CBI, and prior to that Chief European Economist at Ford of Europe.

Former Chair Matthew Bullock commented:

In the last 10 years, the Centre for Business Research has built a fantastic record of cross-disciplinary research on the growth of small and medium-sized companies, in the UK, the US and Europe, on evidence-based developments of Innovation Policies and on the role of law and softer governance techniques in shaping economic growth. I have greatly enjoyed working with such a talented team of researchers and leading their influential advisory board and I am therefore all the more delighted to hand over to Kate Barker.”

On becoming the new Chair, Kate said:

The Centre for Business Research has a history of sound analysis of entrepreneurship and innovation. Robust understanding of these issues, and of corporate governance, is more important than ever as the UK economy seeks a path out of prolonged underperformance. I am honoured to become Chair of the CBR’s Advisory Board and to have the opportunity to work with its distinguished team.”